Atty. Michael Aguinaldo and Dean Andres Bautista. Photos from and

Professors Atty. Michael Aguinaldo and Dean Andres Bautista appointed as COA and COMELEC chiefs

ATENEO Law School (ALS) professors Atty. Michael G. Aguinaldo (’92) and Dean Juan Andres D. Bautista (’90) were recently appointed by President Aquino to the highest positions in the Commission on Audit (COA) and Commission on Elections (COMELEC) respectively.

Atty. Aguinaldo currently teaches Negotiable Instruments Law and Corporate Law electives. Prior to being appointed as the Chairman of the COA, Atty. Aguinaldo was the Deputy Executive Secretary for Legal Affairs for the Office of the President and held the position from May 2011. Before joining government, he was a partner at Romulo Mabanta Buenaventura Sayoc & De los Angeles Law Office for 17 years. He placed 7th in the 1993 Bar Exams and obtained his Master of Laws degree from the University of Michigan in 1997, with special concentration in international economic law.

Atty. Aguinaldo’s appointment as COA chairman was made last 24 March 2015 and he will hold the position until 2 February 2022, pursuant to the seven-year term provided for COA Chairman under the Constitution. He succeeds Grace Pulido-Tan, who held the position from February 2011. 

A bar topnotcher himself, Dean Bautista teaches Constitutional Law at the ALS. Before being appointed as Chairman of the COMELEC, he served as the Chairman of the Presidential Commission on Good Government (PCGG) from April 2010. He was also the Dean of the Far Eastern University (FEU) Institute of Law from 1997 to 2013 and co-founded the Master of Business Administration-Juris Doctor Program of De La Salle University and FEU. Dean Bautista obtained his Master of Laws degree from Harvard Law School in 1993. 

Pursuant to the Constitution, Dean Bautista will serve a seven-year term which began last 28 April 2015 and will end on 2 February 2022, covering the next two national elections. Dean Bautista succeeds Atty. Sixto Brillantes, who retired last 2 February 2015 and held the position since 2011. P

4,088 total views, 2 views today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *