Winners all. Both APS Security Personnel teams bag top prizes at ELSA’s Amazing Race 2014. Photo by Jeron Manzanero

APS security personnel bag 1st and 2nd in ELSA Amazing Race

LAST FEBRUARY 23, 2014, the Environmental Law Society of the Ateneo (ELSA) held its third annual Amazing Race.

This year, six teams of three competed in a race around the Metro to raise awareness about the environment and to help address local environmental concerns. Additionally, this year’s race incorporated the promotion of local tourism by including stops in Intramuros, Luneta Park and La Mesa Eco Park. Apart from such integration, a number of stops made use of technology and social media to save on material wastes and avoid unnecessary clutter.

The race started in the Law School and ended in the Ateneo Loyola campus, with a total of seven stops along the way. From Rockwell, the teams proceeded to Barangay Viejo to sell the white paper collected by ELSA from the student body. Next, they proceeded to Legaspi Village where they collected trash around the area, which they utilized to create figurines. The third stop involved venturing to different tourist spots inside the Walled City using the most environmentally friendly mode of transportation, with a little history capping off the stop as the teams had to recite all the Philippine Presidents. The race participants then headed to Rizal Park for photo ops with flora, fauna and of course, Jose Rizal himself. After lunch, the race continued on to the La Mesa Eco Park where teams had a choice between fishing and naming the various trees in the area. The UP Sunken Garden was the penultimate stop, where teams had to create haikus about Mother Nature. Finally, all six teams raced to Bellarmine Field in the Loyola campus, where the finish line is located.

Bagging first and second places were the Ateneo Professional Schools’ very own security personnel, John Peter Callao, Ulysses Trinidad, Rex Fernandez (Team Eagle Eye) and Danilo Lozares, Harry Dela Cruz and Elmer Cajeda (The Beginners), respectively. Third place belonged to 3A students Allen Gerona, Jeric Galon and Kathleen de Guzman. Each team received cash prizes of Php13,000, Php7,000 and Php4,000, respectively.

1,212 total views, 2 views today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *