Photo by: Wendell Laxamana

Ateneo Law tops the 2018 Bar Examination

The Ateneo Law School (ALS) has revived its spot in the top 10 of the last year’s bar examination with Sean James Borja leading the list of bar passers with a score of 89.30%. Along with Borja are Daniel John Fordan (4th place) and Katrina Monica Gaw (5th place), with scores of 85.44% and 85.42%, respectively.

Dean Jose Maria Hofileña proudly announced the school’s performance in the recent bar examination result, having accomplished an 86.27% over-all passing rate and 88.27% for the first-timer passing rate.

The University of San Carlos has maintained its record in the top 10 with its four students making on the list namely Marcley Augustus Natu-El (2nd place) with a score of 87.53%, Mark Lawrence Badayos (3rd place) with 85.42% followed by Jebb Lynus Cane (9th place) and Alen Joel Pita (10th place) with scores of 84.81% and 84.69%, respectively.

The other topnotchers Nadaine Tongco (6th place) with 85.93% and Patricia Sevilla (7th place) with 84.86% are both from the University of the Philippines while Katherine Ting from De La Salle University-Manila secured her 8th place with 84.86%.

Ateneo Law Community Celebrates the 2018 Bar Result

The traditional bar results celebration was conducted hours after the bar result came out in recognition of the success of the new Atenean lawyers. This year’s rally was made special by the presence of the school’s two esteemed deans, Dean Hofileña and Dean Sedfrey Candelaria, Dean of ALS from 2011 to 2018.

Photo by: Wendell Laxamana

Dean Hofileña delivered his speech by expressing his delight to the bar passers’ achievement. He also gave due recognition to the hard work of Dean Candelaria.

Dean Hofileña and Dean Candelaria led the students, faculty, alumni, and staff in the singing of the school anthem “A Song for Mary.”

2018 NovemBAR
The Supreme Court announced that only 1,800 from a total of 8,155 aspiring lawyers or 22.07% passed the said examination. The passing rate of the 2018 bar exam is lower as compared to the 2017 results.

Associate Justice Mariano del Castillo was the chairman of the 2018 bar examinations with the following examiners:

1. Atty. Carlo Cruz (Political & Public International Law)
2. Atty. Hans Leo Cacdac (Labor Law & Social Legislation)
3. Atty. Ma Ngina Teresa Chan-Gonzaga (Civil Law)
4. Atty. Carlos Baniqued (Taxation)
5. Dean Cesar Villanueva (Mercantile Law)
6. Justice Edgardo Cruz (Criminal Law)
7. Atty. Tranquil Salvador III (Remedial Law)
8. Atty. Regina Geraldez (Legal Ethics & Practical Exercises)

5,868 total views, 4 views today